Quantum Break an Xbox One seller?

As I’ve said before, I own way to many Sony products and lack in mostly everything else. Unless an iPhone is considered a gaming console… Which I don’t really count for my own gaming needs. But I’m not against the competitors they just haven’t released anything that gets me interested in them enough to go fuck it, it’s time to invest.

Now if I was to invest honestly the first system would be the Wii U, but it’s region locked and I refuse to buy anything region locked so sadly that’s out of the question. So is Xbox 360 for that matter. But with Microsoft’s famous back stepping before the launch on the Xbox One they made it region free and for that percolated my interest.

Then the question that must be asked, do they have any games that are exclusive that also tickle my fancy. And the answer is right now no. I don’t play multiplayer games, unless boardlands counts and that’s a couch coop moment for me anyways with a few beers to make friends with at the same time, while blowing up badies with a buddy. So Titan Fall is out of the question. Sunset Overdrive looks fun but not a system seller for me, for it looks like a fun fuck around game with little to no actual story or real content.

IMG_2315.JPG

In 2015 Quantum Break is getting released exclusively to the Xbox One, made by Remedy the company behind the amazing Max Payne reboot. So it has a good company behind it, that focus on story and character to drive their game play on, not the gameplay with a flimsy story plopped onto to make it have a single player aspect like with the FPS franchises out there.

I been watching their coverage, and they just released a 16 min gameplay of what the shown before… Which honestly confuses me cause I know I’ve seen this before but whatever.

The gameplay looks slick, but while watching the video I get two major impressions. This is an action game, mix of cover shooter, with lightning fast movements. And incredibly linear experience. I’m not totally against the linear scripted experience Last Of Us one of my favorite games of all time is pretty much as linear as a game can get. The thing that worries me in that linearity is that they have sections that are referred to as puzzles, but look nothing more then simple time stopping platforming. And not something I can fuck with.

Like cause I walk around the stopped world and move stuff around so that the chaos kills different people, while he’s walking through the stopped bridge scene he casually pushes a molotov cocktail out of the way and seems to be going back to the protestors throwing it. But the game demo at least continues on the a scripted mini boss battle. But could I stay there and play with the chaos? Or would my manipulation a be nothing then a parlor trick that falls short of becoming anything interesting.

Furthermore more of a side note then anything else but seems that they lost the physics engine they were using from rocksteady cause the billets just don’t seem to have the weight and impact that simply wowed me in Max Payne.

I know it’s simply a demo so I can’t judge too much from it, but still it makes me wonder if it’s the game that will push me to buy an Xbox One. Honestly I’m curious but I haven’t had that wow moment yet with any of their exclusives, and really non with the ps4 as well. I just happen to have faith in companies like Naughty Dog, Santa Monica, Pixel Junk, Guerrilla Games, and many of their other first part studios.

But for me to be an Xbox junkie they need to bring games out that come damn close to what Quantum Break is promising.

Leave a comment